Yahoo Weather

You are here

Cub boys take third in Class AA at Jefferson

C-N’s Combes finishes fifth in Class A

JEFFERSON – The Nevada boys’ cross country team took third in Class AA, the Cub girls produced one top-10 runner and Colo-Nesco had one boys’ runner finish in the top five of Class A at the Greene County Invitational Sept. 12 in Jefferson.

All five scored runners for the Nevada boys finished in the top 25 individually to help the Cubs finish with a team score of 86. Perry won the eight-team boys’ competition in Class AA with 47 points, Creston was second with 52 and Winterset took fourth with a score of 114.

Lucas Markey was the top runner for the Nevada boys as he came in eighth overall with a 5-kilometer time of 18 minutes, 28.59 seconds. Evan Rix finished in the top 15 with a 14th-place showing of 18:56.74 and Conner MacVey took 17th in 19:04.99.

Drew Barker and Zach Hansen were the final two scored Nevada runners. Barker finished 23rd in 19:16.32 and Hansen placed 24th with a time of 19:24.17.

The Class AA boys’ individual champion was Perry’s Atem Akok, who ran a 16:51.09 to edge the 16:52.03 by Creston’s Cooper McDermott for first.

The Nevada girls placed fifth out of eight teams in Class AA with 122 points. Winterset took the girls’ team title with 31 points and Greene County was second with a score of 62.

Caitlin Dewell gave the Nevada girls a top-10 individual time as she completed the girls’ 4-kilometer course in 17:18.88 to place ninth. Emily Dittmer came in 14th after crossing the finish line in 17:39.88 and Elli Cassabaum was 28th with an 18:33.24 showing.

Nicole Dewell and Erin Sellberg were the other scored runners for the Cub girls. Nicole placed 30th in 18:42.47 and Sellberg came in 44th with a time of 19:21.41.

Winterset’s Brittany Sawyers won the girls’ individual title in Class AA with a time of 15:56.57.

In Class A, Colo-Nesco placed eighth out of 10 teams in the boys’ competition with a score of 174. Panorama won the Class A boys’ championship with 70 points and Ogden was second with 93 points.

Jordan Combes had a brilliant individual outing for the Royal boys as he completed the course in 18:17.43 to finish fifth overall in Class A. West Marshall’s Nathan Bradley took first individually in the Class A boys’ race with a time of 17:14.63 and South Hamilton’s Jacob Heeran nabbed the silver medal after finishing in 17:50.44.

Steven Cutler just missed placing in the top 10 individually for the Royal boys. Cutler came in 11th at 18:43.49.

Elliot Morgan wound up 48th in 21:08.59, Kyle Miller placed 71st with a 22:52.26 showing and Caleb Vaughn was 80th in 24:47.19 to complete the scoring for Colo-Nesco.

In the girls’ competition the Royals placed last out of eight scored teams with 215 points. South Hamilton and Panorama were the top two girls’ teams in Class A with respective scores of 42 and 46.

Grace Stalzer ran a 20:14.50 in the girls’ Class A race to finish 44th for Colo-Nesco. Stephanie Norris was 52nd for the Royals in 20:30.32.

Leah Vincent placed 69th in 22:08.96, Caitlin Clark was 75th in 23:01.06 and Angela Brinkman ran a 23:04.26 to finish 76th for the Royal girls.

Audubon’s Megan Deist took first individually in the Class A girls’ race with a time of 16:28.13. South Hamilton’s Kayla Lucas finished second in 16:54.83.

Final team scores

Class AA

Girls: 1. Winterset 31 points, 2. Greene County 62, 3. Creston 79, 4. Roland-Story 99, 5. Nevada 122, 6. Kuemper Catholic 144, 7. Denison 160, 8. Perry 210.

Boys: 1. Perry 47, 2. Creston 52, 3. Nevada 86, 4. Winterset 114, 5. Kuemper Catholic 115, 6. Denison 116, 7. Roland-Story 162, 8. Greene County 205.

Class A

Girls: 1. South Hamilton 42, 2. Panorama 46, 3. CMB 89, 4. Audubon 94, 5. Exira-EHK 118, 6. West Marshall 159, 7. Southeast Webster-Grand 166, 8. Colo-Nesco 215.

Boys: 1. Panorama 70, 2. Ogden 93, 3. South Hamilton 101, 4. Des Moines Christian 105, 5. CMB 125, 6. IKM 129, 7. West Marshall 131, 8. Colo-Nesco 174, 9. Audubon 211, 10. Paton-Churdan 268.

Individual results

Class AA – Nevada

Girls (4-kilometer): 9. Caitlin Dewell, 17:18.88; 14. Emily Dittmer, 17:39.88; 28. Elli Cassabaum, 18:33.24; 30. Nicole Dewell, 18:42.47; 44. Erin Sellberg, 19:21.41; 45. Emily Haywood, 19:27.89; 48. Caroline Goecke, 19:50.41.

Boys (5-kilometer): 8. Lucas Markey, 18:28.59; 14. Evan Rix, 18:56.74; 17. Conner MacVey, 19:04.99; 23. Drew Barker, 19:16.32; 24. Zach Hansen, 19:24.17; 29. Trinity Barker, 19:38.30; 43. Johordan Ritter, 20:02.99.

Class A – Colo-Nesco

Girls (4-kilometer): 44. Grace Stalzer, 20:14.50; 52. Stephanie Norris, 20:30.32; 69. Leah Vincent, 22:08.96; 75. Caitlin Clark, 23:01.06; 76. Angela Brinkman, 23:04.26.

Boys (5-kilometer): 5. Jordan Combes, 18:17.43; 11. Steven Cutler, 18:43.49; 48. Elliot Morgan, 21:08.59; 71. Kyle Miller, 22:52.26; 80. Caleb Vaughn, 24:47.19; 93. Ashton Graddick, 28:56.37.

The Nevada Journal website is available only to print and digital subscribers. If you are already a subscriber, you can access the website at no additional charge.