Current Weather

You are here

Nevada’s Gidel named second-team all-HOIC

Cole Gidel
Cole Gidel
Alex Merfeld
Alex Merfeld
Patrick Stephenson
Patrick Stephenson

Three members of the Nevada boys’ basketball team were selected to the all-Heart of Iowa Conference teams in 2013-14.

Sophomore guard Cole Gidel was named to the all-HOIC second team and seniors Alex Merfeld and Patrick Stephenson were named honorable mention from Nevada. The Cubs ended up 6-12 in the conference after having to replace nearly their entire varsity roster from a year ago.

Gidel averaged 13.5 points, 1.9 assists, 1.9 rebounds and 1.3 steals in conference play. He made 41 3-pointers in 17 conference games, shooting at a 40-percent clip from downtown, and he also shot 69 percent from the line.

The rest of the all-HOIC second team consisted of: Roland-Story’s Ben Clark, South Hamilton’s Trevor Ullestad, Gilbert’s Wes Greder and Jared Gescheidler, Saydel’s Alex Gustafson, North Polk’s Blake Brauer and CMB’s Austin Moorman.

The all-HOIC first team was made up of: South Hamilton’s Matt Hislop and Collin Hill, Prairie City-Monroe’s Logan Gilman and Dillon Bruxvoort, Roland-Story’s Zach Hovick, Collins-Maxwell-Baxter’s Bryce Kemp, North Polk’s Russell Greene and Greene County’s Trey Tucker. Gilman was the lone unanimous choice.

Merfeld averaged 9.6 points, shooting 50 percent from the field and 64 percent from the line at center. He also corralled 6.1 rebounds and averaged 1.0 block and 1.1 assists in conference play.

Stephenson tallied 5.9 points, 2.5 rebounds and 1.6 steals per game against HOIC competition. He shot 34 percent from 3-point range and 66 percent from the line.

All-HOIC boys’ basketball teams

First team: Logan Gilman (So)*, PCM; Matt Hislop (Sr.), South Hamilton; Dillon Bruxvoort (Sr.), PCM; Zach Hovick (Sr.), Roland-Story; Collin Hill (Fr.), South Hamilton; Russell Greene (Sr.), North Polk; Trey Tucker (Fr.), Greene County; Bryce Kemp (Jr.), CMB.

Second team: Ben Clark (Sr.), Roland-Story; Trevor Ullestad (Sr.), South Hamilton; Wes Greder (Jr.), Gilbert; Alex Gustafson (Sr.), Saydel; Austin Moorman (Sr.), CMB; Cole Gidel (So.), Nevada; Jared Gescheidler (Jr.), Gilbert; Blake Brauer (Jr.), North Polk.

Honorable mention: Alex Merfeld (Sr.), Nevada; Patrick Stephenson (Sr.), Nevada; Landon Braun (Jr.), Greene County; Riah Nelson (Jr.), Greene County; Kyle Walter (Sr.), Saydel; Ryley Sandberg (Sr.), North Polk; Brett Haun (So.), North Polk; Dax Hatfield (Jr.), Gilbert; Ryan Blum (So.), Gilbert; Seth Balke (Jr.), CMB; Zach Samson (Sr.), CMB; Adam Shorkey (Jr.), Roland-Story; Nick Ahrens (Sr.), Roland-Story; Ryan Jennings (Sr.), PCM; Zach Uhlenhopp (Sr.), PCM; Andrew Wintermote (Sr.), South Hamilton; Zach Puls (Sr.), South Hamilton; Colin Lourens (So.), Colfax-Mingo.

*Denotes unanimous selection

Final HOIC standings

South Hamilton 16-2

PCM 15-3

Roland-Story 12-6

CMB 11-7

Gilbert 10-8

North Polk 9-9

Saydel 7-11

Greene County 5-12

Nevada 5-13

Colfax-Mingo 0-17