Current Weather

You are here

Six Cubs make all-conference in girls’ basketball

Jessica Helton
Jessica Helton
Kati Cassabaum
Kati Cassabaum

The Nevada girls’ basketball team had two players receive first-team all-Heart of Iowa Conference honors after helping the Cubs win the conference championship in 2013-14.

Senior point guard Jessica Helton and sophomore center Kati Cassabaum were named to the first team from Nevada. The duo helped the Cubs go 17-1 in the HOIC to claim their first conference championship since 1988.

Senior forward Megan Pringnitz and sophomore guard Alli Fey landed on the all-HOIC second team, and senior forward Emma Lodestein and freshman guard Claire Ausman made honorable mention for the Cubs.

Helton averaged 11.8 points, 2.5 rebounds, 2.8 assists and 2.6 steals and she made 26 3-pointers in 18 conference games. Cassabaum averaged 10.8 points, 11.4 rebounds, 4.7 blocks and 2.1 steals versus HOIC foes.

Joining Helton and Cassabaum on the all-HOIC first team were: the North Polk twin-sister tandem of seniors Miranda and Megan Murphy, Prairie City-Monroe’s Courtney VanHouweling, Roland-Story’s Natalie Vance, Greene County’s Kayla Mobley and Collins-Maxwell-Baxter’s Abbie Haupert.

Pringnitz put up 9.7 points, 5.3 rebounds, 3.4 assists, 1.6 steals and 1.3 blocks per game and she made 44 3-pointers in HOIC action. Fey averaged 8.6 points, 2.3 assists and 1.9 steals.

Making the up the rest of the all-HOIC second team were Gilbert’s Hillary Mosiman, PCM’s Rachel Freland and Abbi Gilson, Saydel’s Cassie Chubb, CMB’s Lexi Breon and South Hamilton’s Savannah Stangeland.

Lodestein averaged 4.4 points and 3.0 rebounds in conference play. Ausman put up 6.2 points per game and she made 21 3-pointers.

All-HOIC girls’ basketball teams

First team: Miranda Murphy (Sr.), North Polk; Megan Murphy (Sr.), North Polk; Courtney VanHouweling (Jr.), PCM; Natalie Vance (Sr.), Roland-Story; Kayla Mobley (Jr.), Greene County; Kati Cassabaum (So.), Nevada; Jessica Helton (Sr.), Nevada; Abbie Haupert (Sr.), CMB.

Second team: Hillary Mosiman (Sr.), Gilbert; Rachel Freland (Jr.), PCM; Cassie Chubb (So.), Saydel; Megan Pringnitz (Sr.), Nevada; Alli Fey (So.), Nevada; Lexi Breon (Jr.), CMB; Savannah Stangeland (Jr.), South Hamilton; Abbi Gilson (Sr.), PCM.

Honorable mention: Hannah Onken (Jr.), Greene County; Jolee Wessling (Jr.), Greene County; Emma Lodestein (Sr.), Nevada; Claire Ausman (Fr.), Nevada; Brooke Staker (Sr.), Roland-Story; Taylor Olson (Jr.), Roland-Story; Katie Reed (Sr.), Gilbert; Paige Hoiberg (Jr.), Gilbert; Kaitlin Fisher (Sr.), South Hamilton; Carly Swenson (Jr.), South Hamilton; Macy Gill (Fr.), North Polk; Rachel Zimmermann (So.), North Polk; Brooklyn Allgood (Jr.), Saydel; Emma Bowman (Jr.), Saydel; Mackenzie Schmitz (Jr.), CMB; Bridget Hurley (So.), CMB; Lexi Kain (Sr.), PCM; Rachel Gulling (Jr.), PCM; McKenzie Cogley (Sr.), Colfax-Mingo; Jenna Teed (Sr.), Colfax-Mingo.

Final HOIC standings

Nevada 17-1

North Polk 16-2

PCM 13-5

Gilbert 11-7

Roland-Story 10-8

Saydel 9-9

Greene County 8-10

CMB 4-14

Colfax-Mingo 1-17

South Hamilton 1-17